NJ Board of Pharmacy Registration Guide

pharmacy tablet

When it comes to professional licensure for pharmacy professionals of the medical field in the state of New Jersey, the NJ Board of Pharmacy registration guide is essential reading. The guide provides all the key information you need to get registered with the state so you can get to working and serving the community in doing so. Pharmacists are held to a high standard of professionalism given the products they work with, and thus registration is also essential to ensure that their work is effectively regulated and governed.

Requirements for Registration

Image Source: Pixabay

For in-state pharmacists in New Jersey to register as a pharmacist, as per the NJ Board of Pharmacy Registration Guide the applicant should complete the “Pharmacist by Examination or Score Transfer Application,” and meet all requirements as outlined in N.J.A.C. 13:39-2.1. There are a number of requirements for registration in terms of the many steps to be completed, with the following list providing a walkthrough for the pharmacist by examination or score transfer application as outlined in the NJ Board of Pharmacy Registration Guide.

Pharmacist by Examination or Score Transfer Application

This must be completed by all applicants and is explored in depth in the NJ Board of Pharmacy Registration Guide. To fill out this application, complete the following steps:

  • Fill out he applicant’s birthdate and place of birth
  • Fill out the applicant’s full name
  • Fill out the applicant’s home, business, and mailing address
  • Provide your Social Security Number
  • Indicate citizenship status and medical history
  • Answer additional circumstances questions
  • Provide information on current licenses, certificates, permits, and registrations, and education
  • Sign and date the affidavit, certification, and the authorization for the criminal background check

Reciprocity

For pharmacists who hold an active pharmacist license from another state in good standing, without any restrictions, the “Pharmacist by Reciprocity Application” may be completed to open the New Jersey market for potential employment. Such an applicant must have engaged in the practice of pharmacy for a period of at least 1,500 hours within the 2-year period immediately before the date of their application. All other requirements as outlined in N.J.A.C. 13:39-2A.1 must also be met. This means of acquiring registration is of value for the practicing professional with an active out-of-state license.

Training and Continuing Education

While training is important for the pharmacy technician in the state of New Jersey, it is not required by the State Board of Pharmacy in New Jersey. While training is not essential for registration, many employers nevertheless have training and experience requirements, with some requiring applicants to undergo training prior to starting in their roles. New Jersey also does not require that pharmacy technicians engage in continuing education. However, if you are nationally certified note that a minimum of 20 units of continuing education must be completed every two years.

Additional Requirements

As per the NJ Board of Pharmacy Registration Guide, it is essential that the pharmacy technician remember these additional facts:

  • The pharmacist-in-charge may supervise up to 2 pharmacy technicians in the pharmacy. Only if the technicians are certified by a board-approved program may the number of allowable technicians exceed two.
  • Pharmacy technicians are only able to perform pharmacy functions that do not require the exercise of professional judgment.
  • Pharmacy technicians should not handle controlled substances.
  • Technicians are required to wear their nametags at all times during working hours to be accurately identified as a pharmacy technician.
  • The certificate of registration of the New Jersey pharmacy technician must be displayed at a designated spot in the pharmacy at all times.
  • The pharmacy technician is allowed to manage the pharmacy for a half hour at a time while the pharmacist is on their lunch break

NJ Board Of Pharmacy Registration Guide FAQs For Pharmacy Technicians

checklist clinic report

Image Source: Pixabay

The following questions are presented as being of import in the NJ Board of Pharmacy Registration Guide, provided here to present you with a convenient source of answers for many common questions. These questions are important to keep in mind when moving through the registration process, in addition to ongoing practice given the insight that the questions provide into the practical environment:

Yes, pharmacy technicians are under regulation in the state of New Jersey.
No, pharmacy technician certification is not required through the New Jersey State Board of Pharmacy.
Yes, the state of New Jersey requires that pharmacy technicians have a license.
Approved certification exams include PTCP (PTCE) and the ICPT (ExCPT).
Prior to beginning employment in the state of New Jersey, the pharmacy technician must obtain registration. Despite this, one may work as a pharmacy technician applicant for a period of 180 days before registration.
The pharmacy technician is better served by knowing what the pharmacists they serve under are bound to do in terms of their behavior. A pharmacist according to the State Board of Medical Examiner’s regulation J.J.A.C. 13:35-7.6(c)1 a practitioner can write a prescription for a schedule II controlled substance that exceeds 120 dosage units only if the patient is suffering from pain from cancer, intractable pain, or terminal illness. The quantity may not exceed a 30-day supply. It is suggested that the pharmacy technician not handle such controlled substances.

How to Become a Licensed Pharmacy Technician in New Jersey

The following elements must be fulfilled prior to becoming a licensed pharmacy technician in the state of New Jersey according to the NJ Board of Pharmacy Registration Guide:

  • You must have reached 18 years of age or greater
  • You must have a high-school degree or a GED
  • You must be proficient in both written and oral English
  • The written application requesting registration as a pharmacy technician at the New Jersey State Board of Pharmacy must be submitted
  • A payment of $50 must be included with the application. The fee is non-refundable
  • A recent passport-type photo must be included with the application
  • A criminal background check is a requirement of employment
  • It is essential that all elements of the application questions be answered, including those related to immigration status, citizenship, and good moral character on the application form
  • The application must be notarized prior to being submitted

How to Register

Image Source: Pixabay

Registration requires the steps outlined above as detailed in the NJ Board of Pharmacy Registration Guide. The registrant must acquire a license by passing the approved test, then submitting the information in accordance with the information presented above. The registration process is comprehensive, but with patience and persistence can be completed with relative ease to get you into the field working as a pharmacy technician in New Jersey.

In the event the registered pharmacy technician has changed their address, as detailed in the NJ Board of Pharmacy Registration Guide, the New Jersey State Board of Pharmacy requires that it be notified in writing of the change within 30 days.

Reinstatement of Registration

As outlined in the NJ Board of Pharmacy Registration Guide, the registration of the pharmacy technician in New Jersey must be renewed every two years. The renewal fee is $70, with the renewal form being sent to registered pharmacy technicians 60 days prior to the renewal date. If registration is allowed to lapse, the reinstatement process may be necessary.

The board may reinstate the professional or occupation license or certificate of registration or certification of an applicant whose license had been suspended, provided that the applicant otherwise qualifies for the license or licensure. Further, the applicant must qualify for registration or certification, and just submit the following elements upon application for reinstatement:

  • Payment of all fees
  • An affidavit of employment that contains each job held during the period of the expired registration, including the names, addresses, and telephone numbers of each employer
  • The completion of certification and authorization form for a criminal history background check
  • The completed application, all additional supporting documentation, and the fees should be sent to: New Jersey Board of Pharmacy, P.O. Box 45013, Newark, New Jersey 07101

Conclusion

doctor getting blood

Image Source: Pixabay

The pharmacy technician must meet a variety of requirements including testing, licensure, and registration. The registration process as explored above is drawn from the NJ Board of Pharmacy Registration Guide and is a valuable guide to look to when considering transferring your license into New Jersey, renewing your current license registration, or renewing one that has been allowed to lapse due to non-renewal.

For more information on the best-accredited pharmacy technical schools, jobs, and more, check back to Best Pharmacy Technician for ongoing articles and updates.